Latest News

  • Local heroes recognised

Australia Day is the time that we announce the annual Dickson Community Awards, which recognise local people who through volunteer work or community service have made our communities a better place and for those who record extraordinary achievements.

This year’s Dickson Citizen of the Year was Merv Brown (Samford). This award is to recognise an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to our community. He served our country for almost four decades in the military including serving in Vietnam and then upon retirement has worked tirelessly to support servicemen, women and families through the RSL and related organisations.

The Dickson Young Achiever Award recognises an exceptional young achiever and the 2017 recipient was Megghann Thomas (Eaton’s Hill).

Dickson Youth Sports Achievement Awards went to Niamh Bedggood (Highvale), Ashley Stoddart (Murrumba Downs) and Joseph Champness (Joyner).

Matt Renshaw (Albany Creek) was recognised as the Dickson Sportsperson of the Year.

Dickson Community Service Awards recognised the work of Cathy Ihm (Kobble Creek), Ross Patching (Petrie) and Glenn Bell (Dayboro) for their contributions to various community organisations over many years while the Dickson Volunteer Awards went to Mark Orreal (Wights Mountain) and  Brian Morriss (Warner) who selflessly dedicate their time to helping others.

The Community Group of the Year went to our Men’s Sheds. We are lucky to have four of these within communities in the Dickson electorate at Samford, Dayboro, Pine Rivers and Arana Hills. They play a vital role for many men after their retirement providing a friendly, welcoming environment where they can engage in worthwhile activities that benefit the community and allow them to form new friendships.

You can see images of all of the award recipients here:

Posted in: Media Releases
Contact Peter

Constituents Contact: 

 Shop 3,199 Gympie Road
Strathpine Qld 4500

Phone: (07) 3205 9977
Fax: (07) 3205 5111

Email Peter

Immigration and Border Protection issues: 

Phone: (02) 6277 7860
LNP Website